EUROPEAN CENTRAL BANK Frankfurt am Main


Client: Europäische Zentralbank, Frankfurt am Main
Contractor: Coop Himmelblau ZT GmbH, Wien
Scope of services of Architektur Consult ZT: Project partner from the design stage
with main focus on planning in vienna
Project Location: Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland
Start of construction: 02/2010
Completion: 2013
Total area: 190.000 m²

The European Central Bank (ECB) is to erect its new headquarters at the location of the former Großmatkthalle (central market hall) in Frankfurt am Main by 2014. The building is to be erected according to the plans of the Vienna architect firm COOP HIMMELBAU, who won the architectural competition on this project in 2004. COOP HIMMELBLAU is being assisted by ARCHITEKTUR CONSULT ZT GMBH, who has been involved as project partner in planning activities from the very start.

Urbanism and architecture The location for the new headquarters of the European Central Bank (ECB) in Frankfurt's Ostend district has the potential of adding a new landmark to the Frankfurt skyline that will be visible at great distances. The starting point for the design of the towers was the urban perspectives of the city of Frankfurt.
At a height of around 185 metres, the double tower, with its polygonal shape and east-west orientation, has a striking profile that is visible from all important reference points in Frankfurt's city centre, as well as from the river Main. Thanks to its form and presence, the double tower will become a characteristic feature of the Frankfurt skyline.

EUROPÄISCHE ZENTRALBANK Frankfurt am Main


Bauherr: Europäische Zentralbank, Frankfurt am Main
Auftragnehmer: Coop Himmelblau ZT GmbH, Wien
Leistungsanteil Architektur Consult ZT: Projektpartner ab Entwurf,
Schwerpunkt Planung erfolgt in Wien
Projektstandort: Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland
Baubeginn: 02/2010
Fertigstellung: 2013
Bruttogeschossfläche: 190.000 m²

Die Europäische Zentralbank (EZB) errichtet bis zum Jahr 2014 auf dem Areal der ehemaligen Großmarkthalle in Frankfurt am Main ihren neuen Sitz. Der Bau entsteht nach den Plänen des Wiener Architekturbüros COOP HIMMELBLAU, das 2004 den entsprechenden Architekturwettbewerb für sich entscheiden konnten. Verstärkt wird COOP HIMMELBLAU von der ARCHITEKTUR CONSULT ZT GMBH, die ab dem Entwurfsstadium mit Schwerpunkt Planung als Projektpartner tätig ist.

Der Standort der neuen Zentrale der Europäischen Zentralbank (EZB) im Frankfurter Stadtteil Ostend besitzt das Potenzial, zu einem neuen Wahrzeichen der Skyline Frankfurts zu werden, das auch aus großer Entfernung leicht zu erkennen sein wird. Ausgangspunkt für das Konzept der Türme waren die urbanen Perspektiven der Stadt Frankfurt.
Mit einer Höhe von ungefähr 185 m verfügt der Doppelturm aufgrund seiner polygonalen Silhouette und seiner Ost-West-Ausrichtung über ein hervorstechendes Profil, das sowohl von sämtlichen Orientierungspunkten des Frankfurter Stadtzentrums als auch von der Main aus deutlich zu sehen ist. Dank seiner Form und Präsenz wird der Doppelturm ein charakteristischer Bestandteil der Frankfurter Skyline sein.